Information on visiting with minorsMinors (under 18 years of age) will not be permitted to participate in the activities below without a waiver signed by the natural guardians. Minors visiting Discovery Cove without Adult supervision will need to have a parent or legal guardian complete the "Authorization to Treat" form. This form can be downloaded and completed in advance using the link below.
If a child is under 18 years of age and is traveling alone or without their natural guardian and participating in the dolphin swim experience and/or SeaVenture® the natural guardian must sign the waiver(s) and provide a copy of their license for the child to present at check-in.
Guest must be at least be at least 15 years of age to visit Discovery Cove® without adult supervision.
SeaVenture Experience: Certain physical and mental impairments or conditions make your participation unadvisable. Please take the time to review all the medical restrictions on our SeaVenture Information page.
Trainer for a Day Program: If you are experiencing our Trainer for a Day Program, please plan to meet with your Dolphin Trainer at 8 a.m. in the guest reception lobby (Check-In should occur before this time).
Any minor without the appropriate signed wavier(s) and copy of natural guardian’s license will not be able to participate in any of the above activities.
Authorization to Treat FormClick here to download
Animal Interaction WaiversPlease check all interactions that apply.
English: Adults | Minors | Families
Spanish: Adults | Minors | Families
Portuguese: Adults | Minors | Families
DisclaimersIf a guest wanting to participate in either the Dolphin Interaction Program or Sea Venture is a minor, meaning he or she is under the age of 18, the “natural guardian” of the minor must sign the appropriate release for that Activity. Discovery Cove cannot accept releases for minors signed by any individual other than the natural guardian. This includes friends, teachers, or any other guardian or custodian who may be accompanying the minor.
Florida law defines what is meant by a “natural guardian”. Pursuant to Florida Statute §744.201, parents jointly are the natural guardians of their own children and of their adopted children, during minority. If one parent dies, the surviving parent remains the sole natural guardian even if he or she remarries. If the marriage between the parents is dissolved, the natural guardianship belongs to the parent to whom sole parental responsibility has been granted, or if the parents have been granted shared parental responsibility, both continue as natural guardians. If the marriage is dissolved and neither parent is given parental responsibility for the child, neither may act as natural guardian of the child. The mother of a child born out of wedlock is the natural guardian of the child and is entitled to primary residential care and custody of the child unless the court enters an order stating otherwise.
If a natural guardian will not be accompanying his or her minor child to Discovery Cove, the natural guardian will need to print the appropriate release from the internet, sign it and attach a copy of his or her driver’s license and then send the release with the minor or any time prior to the minor’s participation in the activity. If you have any questions about this, please feel free to contact a customer service representative at 407-513-4600.